LEMKEN realigns product range

As a specialist in professional arable farming, LEMKEN believes in knowledge, quality and innovation. Farmers can choose from a wide range of high-quality soil cultivation, drilling and crop care technology.

In the crop protection sector, some changes will come into effect at the end of 2020:

LEMKEN will discontinue the production of conventional field sprayers and in return strengthen and expand its business in mechanical weed control and selective crop protection. In this context, production at the Alpen and Haren sites will be reorganised.

Read the press release on the strategic realignment.

For our customers, business partners and journalists, we have also compiled the most important questions and answers. Should you have any further questions, we would be pleased to receive your message.

We would be pleased to receive your message!

Questions and answers:

About 75 jobs will be affected. Together with the works council, we are seeking socially acceptable solutions for the necessary cuts.

We make every effort to find responsible and socially acceptable solutions that are in line with the values of the company. The aim is to avoid redundancies for operational reasons wherever possible. We are in detailed discussions with the works council on how to proceed.

The production site for field sprayers in Haren (Emsland) will be retained and even expanded; the seed drills will be assembled there in future. This step will enable production to be expanded in the near future to meet the sharp rise in demand in this sector. We are using the freed-up capacity at the main plant in Alpen for the growing production of soil cultivation equipment.

The R&D department for seed drills remains in Alpen. We see the greatest potential in centralised development to network all our products smartly and to successfully lead them into the digital age. Ultimately, with this strategy we are also pursuing the goal of securing all our production sites for the long-term.

Steketee continues to produce its machines and solutions at the site in Stad aan ‘t Haringvliet in the Netherlands. A relocation of production to Germany is not planned. However, we will cooperate much more closely in the development of smart networked product components.

For the field sprayer products of the Nova and Orion series we are looking for a solution outside LEMKEN.

The Orion and Nova models are the latest innovations from LEMKEN in the field sprayer segment. The self-propelled Nova was awarded “Machine of the Year 2020” at the last Agritechnica, and the Orion has also been extremely well received by our customers. We do not want to withhold this potential from the market.

We are concentrating on our core competencies and with this current decision we are giving our product range a very clear profile: LEMKEN stands for innovative and sustainable crop cultivation. The portfolio streamlining is being carried out from a position of strength and is a strategic step.

No, of course not. However, we can see for the future that the legal requirements for chemical plant protection are becoming increasingly strict, and that throughout Europe. We are therefore striving for more sustainability in plant cultivation and will offer machines in which mechanical weed control, camera technology and sensor technology are intelligently linked. In this way, we are creating solutions for all farmers, whether they are engaged in conventional or organic farming, to carry out their crop protection measures effectively and economically. And when it comes to soil cultivation and drill technology, LEMKEN of course remains the innovative supplier for all professional farmers and contractors.

Fertilizer spreaders remain part of our product portfolio. Alongside Steketee hoeing machines, fertilizer spreaders are an important component of sustainable agriculture, which we will continue to expand in the future.

The trend towards mechanical crop protection continues unabated, not least due to pressure from consumers. Steketee not only has innovative hoeing technology in its portfolio, but also the most intelligent camera technology on the market. We want to link these machines with our digital solutions and make them capable of learning. We will provide farmers and contractors with the best model for smart sustainable farming – whether organic or conventional.

In principle, we remain the owner of all patent rights. For the Nova and Orion field sprayer models, which we very successfully presented at Agritechnica, we are looking for a new home outside LEMKEN. In this connection we are also striving for a solution under patent law.

With this step, LEMKEN wants to position itself strongly and independently for the future. We would like to strengthen and further expand our product range in the product areas of soil cultivation, sowing technology and crop care. In the future, “Crop Care” will concentrate on sustainable crop protection solutions (including the recently supplemented fertilizer spreaders). For this purpose, we acquired the Dutch hoeing technology specialist Steketee two years ago. This opens up opportunities to use mechanical weed control together with precise selective band spraying or spot spraying, thus contributing to more environmentally friendly solutions compared with area spraying. At the same time the farmer saves effort and costs with the new methods.

The legal requirements for chemical crop protection solutions have increased enormously in recent years and have become more and more heterogeneous on an international level. There is not one field spray standard. We can therefore only maintain our quality standards for conventional field sprayers at the cost of constantly decreasing economic efficiency. After more than 10 years we have not reached a market-relevant size in this segment. We have observed the development for a long time and evaluated long-term forecasts for the future. As a result, we no longer see any prospects for an attractive business development in the field of conventional spraying technology.

We see Europe as a leading indicator for global market development. Social acceptance of conventionally produced food is also declining outside Europe, while there is increasing demand worldwide for sustainably produced agricultural products. With our strategy of concentrating on innovative and sustainable crop cultivation, we are thus also setting the course for long-term healthy growth from a global perspective.

Corona influences the economy in many areas. However, the pandemic had no influence on our decision to withdraw from the conventional field sprayer segment. As a family business we traditionally plan and make long-term decisions.

All confirmed orders will be carried out and delivered in accordance with the contract. In addition, we will generally still accept orders for conventional field sprayers until the end of 2020, but only as long as stocks last. As soon as you as a customer have received an order confirmation from us, you can rely on us producing and delivering your field sprayer in accordance with the contract. Please contact your dealer for this. We are in intensive exchange with our dealers.

For confirmed orders, the contractual conditions apply, without any subsequent separate cancellation options. We will carry out all orders properly. You will continue to receive spare parts and service as usual for at least 10 years after purchase from us.

All customers who own a LEMKEN field sprayer can continue to rely on our comprehensive range of services and spare parts from LEMKEN. The complete after-sales service will continue and spare parts will be delivered. We keep spare parts for at least 10 years and serve you during this time as a reliable and service-oriented partner.

Our customers can always rely on our comprehensive range of services. We are a reliable and service-oriented partner. We will continue to meet this obligation in the current situation. Until the end of 2020 we will continue to take orders for conventional field sprayers and deliver them as planned.

We continue to provide after-sales service for all LEMKEN sprayers in the usual manner. All customers can rely on our comprehensive service offer until at least 2030.

If you are considering a trade-in, please contact your dealer directly.

LEMKEN is currently not planning an exchange premium. If you are interested in a hoeing machine, we have early purchase offers. Please ask your dealer about this early purchase offer.

Your Message

Your question was not answered? Then please write to us by using this contact form, we will answer as soon as possible.






*required fields

LEMKEN GmbH
& Co. KG

Weseler Straße 5
46519 Alpen

Telefon: +49 2802 81-0
Fax: +49 2802 81-262

Email: info@lemken.com
lemken.com

Neuausrichtung Produktprogramm LEMKEN

LEMKEN setzt als Spezialist für den professionellen Pflanzenbau auf Wissen, Qualität und Innovation. Landwirte können bei uns aus einem umfangreichen und hochwertigen Programm für die Bodenbearbeitung, die Sätechnik und den Pflanzenschutz wählen.

Im Bereich Pflanzenschutz treten zum Jahresende 2020 einige Veränderungen in Kraft:

LEMKEN wird die Produktion konventioneller Feldspritzen einstellen und im Gegenzug das Geschäft für mechanische Unkrautbekämpfung und selektiven Pflanzenschutz stärken und ausbauen. In diesem Zuge wird die Produktion an den Standorten Alpen und Haren neu organisiert.

Lesen Sie hier die Pressemitteilung zur strategischen Neuausrichtung.

Für unsere Kunden, Geschäftspartner und Journalisten haben wir ergänzend die wichtigsten Fragen und Antworten zusammengetragen. Sollten Sie weitere Fragen haben, freuen wir uns über eine Nachricht.

Wir freuen uns über Ihre Nachricht!

Fragen und Antworten:

Es werden ca. 70 Arbeitsplätze betroffen sein. Für die notwendigen Einschnitte suchen wir gemeinsam mit dem Betriebsrat nach sozialverträglichen Lösungen.

Wir setzen alles daran, verantwortungsvolle und sozialverträgliche Lösungen zu finden, die im Einklang mit den Werten des Unternehmens stehen. Ziel ist es, betriebsbedingte Kündigungen, wo immer möglich, zu vermeiden. Zum weiteren Vorgehen sind wir in ausführlichen Gesprächen mit dem Betriebsrat.

Der Produktionsstandort für Feldspritzen in Haren (Emsland) bleibt erhalten und wird sogar ausgebaut; dort sollen künftig die Drillmaschinen montiert werden. Dieser Schritt ermöglicht eine baldige Produktionserweiterung für die stark gestiegene Nachfrage in diesem Bereich. Die freiwerdenden Kapazitäten im Hauptwerk in Alpen nutzen wir für die wachsende Produktion von Bodenbearbeitungsgeräten.

Die Entwicklung der Drillmaschinen verbleibt in Alpen. Wir sehen in der zentralisierten Entwicklung das größte Potenzial, um all unsere Produkte smart zu vernetzen und erfolgreich ins digitale Zeitalter zu führen. Letztendlich verfolgen wir mit dieser Strategie das Ziel, alle unsere Produktionsstandorte möglichst langfristig zu sichern.

Steketee produziert weiterhin seine Maschinen und Lösungen am Standort Stad aan `t Haringvliet in den Niederlanden. Eine Verlagerung der Produktion nach Deutschland ist nicht geplant. Wir werden jedoch bei der Entwicklung von smart vernetzten Produktkomponenten wesentlich intensiver zusammenarbeiten.

Für die Feldspritzenprodukte der Serie Nova und Orion suchen wir eine Lösung außerhalb von LEMKEN.

Die Modelle Orion und Nova sind die jüngsten Innovation von LEMKEN im Segement der Feldspritzen. Die selbstfahrende Nova wurde als „Maschine des Jahres 2020“ auf der letzten Agritechnica ausgezeichnet und auch die Orion hat enormen Zuspruch unserer Kunden erfahren. Wir möchten dieses Potenziale dem Markt nicht vorenthalten.

Wir konzentrieren uns auf unsere Kernkompetenzen und geben unserem Produktsortiment mit der aktuellen Entscheidung ein ganz klares Profil: LEMKEN steht für innovativen und nachhaltigen Pflanzenbau. Die Portfoliobereinigung erfolgt aus einer Postition der Stärke und ist ein strategischer Schritt.

Nein, natürlich nicht. Wir sehen aber für die Zukunft, dass die gesetzlichen Auflagen für den chemischen Pflanzenschutz immer strenger werden und das europaweit. Wir streben deshalb nach mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Pflanzenbau und werden Maschinen anbieten, bei denen mechanische Unkrautbekämpfung, Kameratechnik und Sensorik intelligent verknüpft sind. Damit schaffen wir Lösungen für alle Landwirte, egal ob im konventionellen oder Bioanbau, ihre Pflanzenschutzmaßnahmen effektiv und wirtschaftlich zu betreiben. Und bei der Bodenbearbeitung und Drilltechnik bleibt LEMKEN selbstverständlich der innovative Anbieter für sämtliche Profi-Landwirte und Lohnunternehmer.

Düngerstreuer bleiben Teil unseres Produktportfolios. Neben Steketee Hackmaschinen sind Düngerstreuer ein wichtiger Bestandteil der nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft, den wir künftig weiter ausbauen werden.

Der Trend hin zu mechanischem Pflanzenschutz ist ungebrochen hoch, nicht zuletzt auf Druck der Verbraucher. Steketee hat nicht nur innovative Hacktechnik im Portfolio, sondern auch die intelligenteste Kameratechnologie am Markt. Wir wollen diese Maschinen mit unseren digitalen Lösungen verknüpfen und lernfähig machen. Wir werden Landwirten und Lohnunternehmern das für sie beste Modell für eine smarte nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung liefern – ganz gleich, ob im Bio- oder im konventionellen Anbau.

Grundsätzlich bleiben wir weiterhin Inhaber aller Patentrechte. Für die Feldspritzenmodelle Nova und Orion, die wir sehr erfolgreich auf der Agritechnica vorgestellt haben, suchen wir eine neue Heimat außerhalb von LEMKEN. In diesem Zuge streben wir auch einen patentrechtliche Lösung an.

LEMKEN will sich mit diesem Schritt stark und unabhängig für die Zukunft aufstellen. Wir möchten das Angebot in den Produktbereichen Bodenbearbeitung, Sätechnik und Crop Care stärken und noch weiter ausbauen. Dabei wird sich „Crop Care“ künftig auf nachhaltige Pflanzenschutzlösungen (inklusive der kürzlich ergänzten Düngerstreuer) konzentrieren. Dazu haben wir vor zwei Jahren den niederländischen Hacktechnikspezialisten Steketee übernommen. Hierdurch ergeben sich Möglichkeiten, die mechanische Unkrautbekämpfung zusammen mit präziser selektiver Bandspritzung oder Spotspraying einzusetzen und damit zu umweltgerechteren Lösungen im Vergleich zur Flächenspritzung beizutragen. Gleichzeitig spart der Landwirt mit den neuen Verfahren Aufwand und Kosten.

Die gesetzlichen Auflagen für chemische Pflanzenschutzlösungen sind in den vergangen Jahren enorm gestiegen und auf internationaler Ebene zunehmend heterogen. Es gibt nicht den einen Feldspritzstandard. Unseren Qualitätsanspruch können wir bei den konventionellen Feldspritzen deshalb nur auf Kosten einer geringeren Wirtschaftlichkeit gegenüber unserem übrigen Programm aufrechterhalten. Nach mehr als 10 Jahren haben wir keine marktrelevante Größe in diesem Segment erreicht. Wir haben die Entwicklung lange beobachtet und langfristige Prognosen für die Zukunft ausgewertet. Im Ergebnis sehen wir keine Perspektiven mehr für eine attraktive Geschäftsentwicklung im Bereich konventionelle Spritztechnik.

Wir sehen Europa als Frühindikator für eine globale Marktentwicklung. So sinkt die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz von konventionell produzierten Nahrungsmitteln auch außerhalb Europas, während nachhaltig produzierte Agrarprodukte weltweit immer stärker nachgefragt werden. Mit unserer Strategie der Konzentration auf innovativen und nachhaltigen Pflanzenbau stellen wir somit auch global betrachtet die Weichen für langfristiges gesundes Wachstum.

Corona beeinflusst die Wirtschaft in vielen Bereichen. Auf unsere Entscheidung, uns aus dem Segment der konventionellen Feldspritzen zu verabschieden, hatte die Pandemie jedoch keinen direkten Einfluss. Als Familienunternehmen planen und entscheiden wir traditionell langfristig.

Alle bestätigten Aufträge werden ausgeführt und vertragsgemäß ausgeliefert. Darüber hinaus nehmen wir bis zum Jahresende 2020 grundsätzlich noch Bestellungen für konventionelle Feldspritzen an, allerdings nur, solange der Vorrat reicht. Sobald Sie als Kunde von uns eine Auftragsbestätigung vorliegen haben, können Sie darauf vertrauen, dass wir Ihre Feldspritze vertragsgemäß produzieren und ausliefern. Bitte sprechen Sie hierzu Ihren Händler an. Wir sind mit unseren Händlern im intensiven Austausch.

Für bestätigte Aufträge gelten die Vertragsbedinungen, ohne nachträglich gesonderte Stornierungsoptionen. Wir werden alle Aufträge ordnungsgemäß ausführen. Ersatzteile und Service erhalten Sie auch weiterhin wie gewohnt für mindestens 10 Jahre nach Kauf von uns.

Alle Kunden, die im Besitz einer LEMKEN Feldspritze sind, können weiterhin auf unser umfassendes Serviceangebot und Ersatzteile aus dem Hause LEMKEN vertrauen. Der komplette After-Sales Bereich wird weitergeführt und Ersatzteile werden ausgeliefert. Ersatzteile halten wir für mindestens 10 Jahre vor und bedienen Sie in dieser Zeit als verlässlicher und serviceorientierter Partner.

Auf unser umfassendes Serviceangebot können unsere Kunden immer vertrauen. Wir sind ein verlässlicher und serviceorientierter Partner. Dieser Verpflichtung werden wir auch in der aktuellen Situation nachkommen. Bis zum Jahresende 2020 nehmen wir noch Bestellungen für konventionelle Feldspritzen an und liefern diese wie geplant aus.

Wir führen für alle LEMKEN Feldspritzen den After-Service in gewohnter Form weiter. Alle Kunden können auf unser umfassendes Serviceangebot bis mindestens 2030 vertrauen.

Sollten Sie über eine Inzahlungnahme nachdenken, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an Ihren Händler.

Eine Umtauschprämie seitens LEMKEN ist aktuell nicht geplant. Wenn Sie Interesse an einer Hackmaschine haben, bieten wir Frühkaufangebote an. Bitte sprechen Sie mit Ihrem Händler über diese Frühkauf-Aktion.

Ihre Nachricht

Ihre Frage wurde nicht beantwortet? Dann schreiben Sie uns gerne über dieses Kontaktformular, wir werden schnellstmöglich antworten.






*Pflichtangaben

LEMKEN GmbH
& Co. KG

Weseler Straße 5
46519 Alpen

Telefon: +49 2802 81-0
Fax: +49 2802 81-262

Email: info@lemken.com
lemken.com